COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2015, Legislative Day No. 38

Resolution No. 56-15

Introduced by Mr. Walker, Mr. Pruski and Mr. Smith

By the County Council, November 16, 2015

1	RESOLUTION nominating a member to the Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission
2	
3	WHEREAS, Section 1001 of the Charter establishes the Anne Arundel County Ethics
4	Commission, whose members are appointed by the County Executive with the
5	approval of the County Council and who serve four-year terms; and
6	
7	WHEREAS, the Ethics Commission has seven members, of which no more than four
8	shall be members of the same political party and of which three shall be nominated by
9	the County Council; and
10	
11	WHEREAS, the term of current member Cathleen Conlyn, nominated by the County
12	Council, expired on April 30, 2015; now, therefore, be it
13	
14	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby
15	approves the nomination of Vanessa Carter (Democrat) for appointment to the Anne Arundel
16	County Ethics Commission to serve the remainder of a four-year term expiring on April 30,
17	2019; and be it further
18	
19	Resolved, that the County Council requests the County Executive to appoint Vanessa
20	Carter (Democrat) for appointment to the Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission to serve
21	the remainder of a four-year term that expires on April 30, 2019; and be it further
22	
23	Resolved, That a copy of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steven R. Schuh
24	Betsy Dawson, Executive Director, Ethics Commission; nominee Vanessa Carter; and Arlene
25	Berlin, Coordinator of Boards and Commissions.