## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2015, Legislative Day No. 36

## Resolution No. 52-15

Introduced by Mr. Smith, Vice Chairman (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, October 19, 2015

1	RESOLUTION approving the appointment of a Severn River Commission member
2	
3	WHEREAS, the County Council of Anne Arundel County established the Severn
4	River Commission in Resolution No. 130-84, and reestablished the Commission
5	in Resolution No. 47-89; and
6	
7	WHEREAS, Resolution No. 47-89 provides that, subject to confirmation by the
8	County Council, the County Executive shall appoint seven voting members to the
9	Severn River Commission, at least five of whom are residents of the Severn River
10	watershed; and
11	
12	WHEREAS, Resolution No. 47-89 further provides that each member of the
13	Severn River Commission shall serve a term of three years from the date of
14	appointment; and
15	
16	WHEREAS, Stephen B. McHale, a member of the Severn River Commission
17	with a term ending on January 31, 2018, who is not a resident of the Severn River
18	Watershed, has resigned from the Commission, effective August 3, 2015; and
19	
20	WHEREAS, the County Executive has appointed Arthur A. Birney, Jr., a resident
21	of the Severn River Watershed, to serve on the Severn River Commission for the
22	remainder of the term ending on January 31, 2018; and
23	
24	WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that Arthur A.
25	Birney, Jr. meets the eligibility requirements under Resolution No. 47-89, and is
26	qualified to serve on the Severn River Commission; now, therefore, be it
27	-
28	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it confirms
29	the appointment of Arthur A. Birney, Jr., a resident of the Severn River Watershed, to
30	serve on the Severn River Commission for the remainder of a term ending on January 31,

31 32 33

34

35

2018; and be it further

*Resolved*, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steven R. Schuh; Charles R. Kreter, Chair, Severn River Commission; Arthur A. Birney, Jr., appointee; and Arlene Berlin, Director of Boards and Commissions.