## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

## Legislative Session 2014, Legislative Day No. 4

Resolution No. 8-14

## Introduced by Mr. Grasso, Chairman (by request of the County Executive)

## By the County Council, February 18, 2014

1	RESOLUTION appointing a member to the Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission
2	
3	WHEREAS, Section 1001 of the Charter establishes the Anne Arundel County
4	Ethics Commission, whose members are appointed by the County Executive with the
5	approval of the County Council; and
6	
7	WHEREAS, the Ethics Commission has seven members, of which no more than four
8	shall be members of the same political party; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, Section 1001 of the Charter provides that three of the seven members
11	shall be nominated by the County Council; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, Thaddeus N. Toal (Republican), one of the current members of the
14	Ethics Commission, nominated and appointed by the County Executive, whose term
15	would have expired April 30, 2016, has resigned; and
16	
17	WHEREAS, the County Executive has appointed Donna Schaeffer (Republican) for
18	the remainder of a term expiring April 30, 2016, subject to the approval of the
19	County Council; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, the County Council, after public hearing, has found Donna Schaeffer to
22	be qualified under Section 1001 of the Charter to serve on the Ethics Commission;
23	now, therefore, be it
24	
25	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby
26	approves the appointment to the Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission of Donna
27	Schaeffer for the remainder of a term expiring April 30, 2016; and be it further
28	
29	<i>Resolved,</i> That a copy of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Laura Neuman;
30	Donna Schaeffer, appointee; Betsy Dawson, Executive Director, Anne Arundel County
31	Ethics Commission; and Sarah Francisco, Coordinator of Boards and Commissions.