

ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY OFFICE OF LAW

Legislative Summary

To: Members, Anne Arundel County Council

From: Kelly Phillips Kenney, Supervising County Attorney /s/

Via: Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney /s/

Date: March 20, 2023

Subject: Bill No. 20-23 – Pedestrian and Bicycle Master Plan – Walk & Roll Anne Arundel!

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Office of Law for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of Bill No. 20-23.

Background

"Plan2040", the County's General Development Plan, as adopted by this Council on May 3, 2021, recognized several Functional Master Plans to be presented to the Council for approval, including the Pedestrian and Bicycle Master Plan.

Purpose

The purpose of Bill No. 20-23 is to repeal the 2003 Pedestrian and Bicycle Master Plan and the 2013 update, and to adopt the County's 2023 Pedestrian and Bicycle Master Plan, entitled "Walk & Roll Anne Arundel!" (the "Plan").

The "whereas" clauses of the Ordinance set forth the background, and explain that the Plan is an official policy document that is intended to improve and advance the transportation network and conditions for pedestrians and bicyclists in the County, prioritize a safe and comfortable walking and rolling network between essential destinations in the County, and ensure that all residents have access to an active transportation infrastructure.

Bill No. 20-23

SECTION 1.

This section repeals the County's 2003 Pedestrian and Bicycle Master Plan and the 2013 update.

Note: This Legislative Summary provides a synopsis of the bill as introduced. It does not address subsequent amendments to the bill.

SECTION 2.

This section adopts the Plan.

SECTION 3.

This section requires that certified copies of the Plan be permanently kept on file in the Office of the County Council and in the Office of Planning and Zoning.

SECTION 4.

This section provides that the Ordinance shall take effect 45 days from the date it becomes law.

The Office of Law is available to answer any additional questions regarding this Bill. Thank you.

cc: Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive
Christine Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer
Jeff Amoros, Chief of Staff
Peter Baron, Chief Strategy Officer
Chris Trumbauer, Budget Officer
Janssen Evelyn, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer
Jenny Jarkowski, Planning and Zoning Officer
Samuel Snead, Director, Office of Transportation
Brian Ulrich, Office of Transportation
Tanya Asman, Office of Transportation