

Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney

MEMORANDUM

To: Members, Anne Arundel County Council

From: Christine B. Neiderer, Assistant County Attorney /s/

Via: Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney /s/

Date: November 4, 2019

Subject: Resolution No. 45-19 – Appointing a member to the Anne Arundel County Ethics

Commission

Legislative Summary

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Office of Law for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of Resolution No. 45-19, which approves the appointment of a member to the Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission ("Commission").

Purpose. The purpose of the Resolution is to approve the appointment of Elizabeth Lewis, a Democrat, to the Commission to serve the remainder of a term expiring on April 30, 2023.

Background. Section 1001 of the Charter establishes the Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission, whose members are appointed by the County Executive with the approval of the County Council. The Ethics Commission has seven members, of which no more than four shall be members of the same political party. Each member serves for a term of four years. In addition, three of the members appointed by the County Executive are nominated by the County Council.

One of the four members of the Ethics Commission not nominated by the County Council, Thomas J. Mulrenin, Esquire (Democrat), was appointed by the County Executive to serve the remainder of a term which expired on April 30, 2019, and resigned on October 11, 2018. No appointment has been made for the term beginning May 1, 2019, and expiring on April 30, 2023.

The County Executive, subject to the approval of the County Council, has appointed Elizabeth Lewis, a Democrat, to serve the remainder of a term which commenced on May 1, 2019 and expires on April 30, 2023.

Proposed Legislation. This resolution approves the appointment of Elizabeth Lewis, a Democrat, to serve the remainder of a term expiring on April 30, 2023.

The Office of Law is available to answer any additional questions regarding Resolution No. 45-19. Thank you.

cc: Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive
Benjamin J. Birge, Chief Administrative Officer
Peter Baron, Legislative Liaison
Kaley Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator & Legislative Assistant
Jim Beauchamp, Budget Officer