

Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney

MEMORANDUM

To: Council Members, Anne Arundel County Council

From: Christine Neiderer, Assistant County Attorney /s/

Via: Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney /s/

Date: July 6, 2020

Subject: Resolution No. 25-20 – Approving the declaration of certain unimproved County-

owned property as surplus property – SP-337(B) – Part of Old Admiral Court

Legislative Summary*

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Office of Law for use by members of the Anne Arundel County ("County") Council during consideration of Resolution No. 25-20, which approves the County Executive's determination of County-owned property as surplus property.

Purpose. The purpose of the resolution is to approve the County Executive's determination that certain County-owned property consisting of 7,469 square feet or 0.1715 acres and identified as part of property formerly known as Old Admiral Court, in Annapolis, Maryland ("Property"), is surplus.

Background. § 8-3-202 of the Anne Arundel County Code ("Code") authorizes the County Executive to dispose of real property owned by the County when the County Executive, with the approval of the County Council by resolution, has determined that the real property is surplus property. In determining whether property is surplus property, the County Executive inquired whether any office, department, or agency of the County has a present need, or reasonably anticipates a future need, for the property, and no such current of future need has been identified. Prior to the introduction of this Resolution, notice was mailed to each adjacent property owner and to the community association representing the area in which the Property is located.

* This Legislative Summary provides a synopsis of the bill as introduced. It does not address subsequent amendments to the bill.

<u>Conclusion</u>. This Resolution approves the County Executive's determination that the Property is surplus property.

The Office of Law is available to answer any additional questions regarding Resolution No. 25-20. Thank you.

Cc: Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive Matthew Power, Chief Administrative Officer Dr. Kai Boggess-de Bruin, Chief of Staff Peter Baron, Director of Government Affairs Jim Beauchamp, Budget Officer Christine Romans, Central Services Officer