

Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney

## **MEMORANDUM**

To:	Members, Anne Arundel County Council	
From:	Christine B. Neiderer, Assistant County Attorney	/s/
Via:	Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney	/s/
Date:	September 3, 2019	
Subject:	Resolution No. 34-19 – Confirming appointments of Anne Arundel County residents to serve on the Spending Affordability Committee	

## **Legislative Summary**

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Office of Law for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of Resolution No. 34-19, which confirms the County Executive's appointments to the Spending Affordability Committee ("Committee").

**Purpose.** The purpose of the Resolution is to confirm the County Executive's appointments of Nicole V. Butler, Deborah T. Ritchie, Dr. David B. Juppe, Donny R. James, and Mary Clapsaddle to the Committee.

**Background.** Section 610(a) of the Charter of Anne Arundel County, Maryland ("Charter"), provides that there is a Spending Affordability Committee that is appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council. The Charter further provides that the Committee shall consist of one resident from each councilmanic district who is knowledgeable in the field of economics, finance, fiscal planning, or a related field. Each member of the Spending Affordability Committee shall be appointed for a term of four years not to exceed two successive terms.

**Proposed Legislation.** The term of the member from District 3 expired on December 1, 2017; the terms of the members from Districts 1, 5, and 6, expired on December 1, 2018; and the term of the member for District 4 is set to expire on December 1, 2020, but the position is currently vacant.

Resolution No. 34-19 – Legislative Summary Page No. 2

The County Executive, subject to confirmation by the County Council, has appointed Deborah T. Ritchie, a resident of District 3, to serve on the Spending Affordability Committee for the remainder of a term ending on December 1, 2021; Nicole V. Butler, a resident of District 1, Mary Clapsaddle, a resident of District 5, and Dr. David B. Juppe, a resident of District 6, to serve on the Spending Affordability Committee for the remainder of terms beginning immediately and ending on December 1, 2022; and Donny R. James, a resident of District 4, to serve on the Spending Affordability Committee for the remainder of a term ending on December 1, 2022.

Please let me know if there are any questions. Thank you.

cc: Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive Benjamin J. Birge, Chief Administrative Officer Peter Baron, Legislative Liaison Kaley Schultze, Legislative Assistant