COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2020, Legislative Day No. 30

Resolution No. 44-20

Introduced by Ms. Pickard, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

and by Ms. Rodvien

By the County Council, November 2, 2020

1

Human Relations Commission

RESOLUTION approving the nominations of members to the Anne Arundel County

3	
4	WHEREAS, Section 3-5A-101 of the County Code provides that there is a Human
5	Relations Commission to be known as the Anne Arundel County Human Relations
6	Commission ("Commission"); and
7	
8	WHEREAS, Section 3-5A-102 of the County Code provides that the purpose of the
9	Commission is to promote and enhance the ability of all Anne Arundel County
10	residents to pursue their lives free of discrimination; and
11	
12	WHEREAS, Section 3-5A-103 of the County Code provides that the Commission
13	shall consist of 11 voting members, all of whom shall be residents of the County,
14	nominated by the County Executive and approved by resolution of the County
15	Council; and
16	
17	WHEREAS, Section 3-5A-103 of the County Code further provides that seven of
18	the members shall be residents of the County, with one from each councilmanic
19	district and recommended by the County Council member of the district; four
20	members shall be recommended by the County Executive; at least four members
21	shall reflect the ethnic and minority diversity of the residents of the County; and at
22	least one member shall be trained in or have experience with mediation; and
23	WHEREAC Coding 2 5A 10A monitor that after the coming to a full initial terms
24	WHEREAS, Section 3-5A-104 provides that after the expiration of the initial terms,
25	all members shall serve three year terms; and
26	WHEREAS the terms of Mary Dadone a member recommended by the County
27 28	WHEREAS, the terms of Mary Dadone, a member recommended by the County Executive; Eugene Peterson, a member from District 4; Khaled Sayed, a member
29	from District 5; and Toni Strong Pratt, a member from District 6, expire on
30	November 17, 2020; and
31	110 vember 17, 2020, and
32	WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 3-5A-103(a)(1) of the County Code, the
33	Councilmember from District 4 has recommended and the County Executive has
34	nominated, subject to approval by the County Council, Eugene Peterson, a resident
35	of District 4, serve a term commencing on November 18, 2020 and ending
36	November 17, 2023; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 3-5A-103(a)(1) of the County Code, the Councilmember from District 5 has recommended and the County Executive has nominated, subject to approval by the County Council, Khaled Sayed, a resident of District 5, serve a term commencing on November 18, 2020 and ending November 17, 2023; and

5 6 7

8

9 10

1

2

3

4

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 3-5A-103(a)(1) of the County Code, the Councilmember from District 6 has recommended and the County Executive has nominated, subject to approval by the County Council, Toni Strong Pratt, a resident of District 6, serve a term commencing on November 18, 2020 and ending November 17, 2023; and

11 12 13

14

15

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 3-5A-103(a)(2) of the County Code, the County Executive has recommended and nominated, subject to approval by the County Council, Mary Dadone, a resident of the County, serve a term commencing on November 18, 2020 and ending November 17, 2023; and

16 17 18

19

20

WHEREAS, the County Council, after public hearing, finds that Mary Dadone, Eugene Peterson, Khaled Sayed, and Toni Strong Pratt, meet the eligibility requirements under Section 3-5A-103 of the County Code and are qualified to serve on the Commission; now, therefore, be it

21 22 23

24 25

26

27

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby approves the nominations to the Anne Arundel County Human Relations Commission of Mary Dadone, to serve as recommended by the County Executive, Eugene Peterson, to serve as a representative of District 4, Khaled Sayed, to serve as a representative of District 5, and Toni Strong Pratt, to serve as a representative of District 6, for terms commencing November 18, 2020, and ending November 17, 2023; and be it further

28 29 30

31 32

Resolved, That a copy of this Resolution be sent to Steuart Pittman, County Executive; Kaley Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator and Legislative Assistant; and nominees Mary Dadone, Eugene Peterson, Khaled Sayed, and Toni Strong Pratt.

READ AND PASSED this 2nd day of November, 2020.

By Order:

JoAnne Gray Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 44-20 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Allison M. Pickard

Chair