COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2020, Legislative Day No. 30

Resolution No. 45-20

Introduced by Ms. Pickard, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

and by Ms. Rodvien

By the County Council, November 2, 2020

1	RESOLUTION confirming appointments to the Board of Trustees for the Anne
2	Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust
3	
4	WHEREAS, Section 6-5-104 of the County Code provides that there is a Board of
5	Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust that shall
6	consist of at least eight Trustees; and
7	
8	WHEREAS, Section 6-5-104(b) of the County Code provides that four Trustees
9	shall be appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the
10	County Council; and
11	
12	WHEREAS, Section 6-5-104(b) of the County Code further provides that, of the
13	four Trustees appointed by the County Executive: (1) one Trustee shall be an active
14	non-represented employee in the classified service or a retiree who retired as a non-
15	represented employee in the classified service; (2) one Trustee shall be an active
16	employee who is a member of one of the uniformed public safety unions or a retiree
17	who retired as a member of one of the uniformed public safety unions, and who is
18	nominated by a majority of the presidents of the county uniformed public safety
19	unions; (3) one Trustee shall be an active employee who is in the classified service
20	represented by an exclusive representative other than one of the county uniformed
21	public safety unions or a retiree who retired as a classified employee represented
22	by an exclusive representative other than one of the county uniformed public safety
23	unions, and who is nominated by a majority of the presidents of the non-uniformed
24	public safety unions; and (4) one Trustee shall be a County resident with knowledge
25	of finances and investing who is not an employee or retiree of the County; and
26	WHEREAC Coding (5.104(s)(1) of the Country Code manifes that often the
27	WHEREAS, Section 6-5-104(c)(1) of the County Code provides that after the
28	expiration of the initial terms, all terms shall be for three years; and
29	WHEREAG G
30	WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 6-5-104(c)(2) of the County Code, a Trustee
31	whose term has expired holds over until a successor is appointed; and
32	WHEDEAC guaranteet to Continue (5 104(a)(2) of the County Code the County
33	WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 6-5-104(c)(3) of the County Code, the County
34	Executive shall fill a vacancy for the remainder of an unexpired term of a Trustee
35	in the same manner as the original appointment; and

WHEREAS, E. Jean Tinsley has resigned as a Trustee, creating a vacancy on the Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust for a non-represented employee in the classified service for a term expiring on June 30, 2021; and

1 2

WHEREAS, the term of O'Brien Atkinson, IV, an active employee who is a member of one of the uniformed public safety unions and was nominated by a majority of the presidents of the uniformed police safety unions, expired June 30, 2020; and

WHEREAS, a vacancy exists on Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust for an employee who is in the classified service represented by an exclusive representative other than one of the county uniformed public safety unions and nominated by a majority of the presidents of the non-uniformed public safety unions, for a term expiring June 30, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Farida Bass has resigned as a Trustee, creating a vacancy on the Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust for a County resident with knowledge of finances and investing who is not an employee or retiree of the County, for a term expiring on June 30, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the County Executive, subject to confirmation by the County Council, has appointed Drew Martin, a non-represented employee in the classified service, to serve the remainder of a term expiring June 30, 2021; O'Brien Atkinson, IV, an active employee who is a member of one of the uniformed public safety unions and who was nominated by a majority of the presidents of the County uniformed public safety unions, to serve a term expiring June 30, 2023; Kevin Nethers, an employee who is in the classified service represented by an exclusive representative other than one of the county uniformed public safety unions who was nominated by a majority of the presidents of the non-uniformed public safety unions, to serve the remainder of a term expiring June 30, 2022; and David Juppe, a County resident with knowledge of finances and investing who is not an employee or retiree of the County, to serve the remainder of a term expiring June 30, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the County Council, after public hearing, finds that Drew Martin, O'Brien Atkinson, IV, Kevin Nethers, and David Juppe, meet the eligibility requirements under Section 6-5-104 of the County Code, and are qualified to serve on the Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby confirms the appointments to the Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health Benefits Trust of Drew Martin to the remainder of a term expiring June 30, 2021; O'Brien Atkinson, IV to serve a term expiring June 30, 2023; Kevin Nethers to serve the remainder of a term expiring June 30, 2022; and David Juppe to serve the remainder of a term expiring June 30, 2021; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman; Drew Martin, O'Brien Atkinson, IV, Kevin Nethers, and David Juppe, Trustees; Sherri

- Dickerson, Secretary, Board of Trustees for the Anne Arundel County Retiree Health
- 2 Benefits Trust; and Kaley Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator and Legislative
- 3 Assistant.

READ AND PASSED this 2nd day of November, 2020.

By Order:

JoAnne Gray

Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 45-20 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Allison M. Pickard

Chair