

Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney

## MEMORANDUM

То:	Council Members, Anne Arundel County Council	
From:	Christine B. Neiderer, Assistant County Attorney	/s/
Via:	Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney	/s/
Date:	October 7, 2019	
Subject:	Resolution No. 39-19 – Appointment to the Pension Oversight Committee	

## **Legislative Summary**

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Office of Law for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of Resolution No. 39-19 that appoints a County resident to the Pension Oversight Commission.

**Purpose**. The purpose of the Resolution is to confirm the appointment of Sherry S. Voelkel to the Commission.

**Background**. Section 606(a) of the Anne Arundel County Charter ("Charter") provides that there shall be a Pension Oversight Commission that is independent of both the legislative and executive branches of the County government. The Charter further specifies that the Commission shall consist of nine members appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council.<sup>1</sup> Five members shall be residents of the County who are knowledgeable about pension administration and funding, do not hold an elective or appointed office with the County or State of Maryland, and are not participants in any retirement plan that the Commission oversees.<sup>2</sup> The term of a member is four years.<sup>3</sup>

County resident member Elizabeth Jane Buck, with a term expiring January 31, 2020, has resigned. The County Executive appointed, subject to confirmation by the County Council, County resident Sherry S. Voelkel to serve the remainder of a term expiring on January 31, 2020, and to a full term expiring on January 31, 2024.

<sup>1</sup> Charter, § 606(b)(1)

<sup>2</sup> Charter, § 606(b)(2)

<sup>3</sup> Charter, § 606(c)(1)

Legislative Summary – Resolution No. 39-19 Page No. 2

**Summary**. This Resolution confirms the appointment of Sherry S. Voelkel to the Pension Oversight Commission.

The Office of Law is available to answer any additional questions regarding Resolution No. 39-19. Thank you.

Cc: Steuart Pittman, County Executive Benjamin J. Birge, Chief Administrative Officer Peter Baron, Legislative Liaison Kaley Schultze, Legislative Assistant Jim Beauchamp, Budget Officer Sherri Dickerson, Personnel Officer