

Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney

MEMORANDUM

To: Council Members, Anne Arundel County Council

From: Christine B. Neiderer, Assistant County Attorney /s/

Via: Gregory J. Swain, County Attorney /s/

Date: October 7, 2019

Subject: Resolution No. 40-19 – Appointment to the Board of Trustees for the Anne

Arundel County Retirement and Pension System

Legislative Summary

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Office of Law for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of the attached Resolution No. 40-19 that reappoints a Trustee to the County Retirement and Pension System ("System").

<u>**Purpose.**</u> The purpose of the resolution is to reappoint Alan J. Hyatt to the Board of Trustees for the System.

Background. Section 5-2-104 of the Anne Arundel County Code (2005, as amended) ("Code") provides that there is a Board of Trustees for the System consisting of 13 members. Of the 13 members, three of the Trustees shall be residents of the County, may not be employees of the County, may not be participants in any of the retirement or pension plans governed by the Board of Trustees, and shall be knowledgeable in the administration and operation of pension systems and trust funds. (§ 5-2-105(a)(7) of the County Code). In addition, these three Trustees serve for terms of three years, and, at the end of a term, a Trustee continues to serve until a successor is appointed or elected (§ 5-3-105(e) of the County Code).

Proposed Legislation. Alan J. Hyatt completed a term as one of the three Trustees described in § 5-2-15(a)(7) on December 1, 2018. He has continued to serve because no successor has been appointed. This resolution reappoints Mr. Hyatt to serve as Trustee for a term that began on December 1, 2018, and expires on December 1, 2021.

Legislative Summary – Resolution No. 40-19 Page No. 2

The Office of Law is available to answer any additional questions regarding the attached resolution. Thank you.

cc: Steuart Pittman, County Executive
Benjamin J. Birge, Chief Administrative Officer
Peter Baron, Legislative Liaison
Kaley Schultze, Legislative Assistant
Jim Beauchamp, Budget Officer
Sherri Dickerson, Personnel Officer