## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2020, Legislative Day No. 14

## Resolution No. 13-20

Introduced by Ms. Pickard, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, May 11, 2020

1	RESOLUTION appointing a member to the Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission
2	
3	WHEREAS, Section 1001 of the County Charter establishes the Anne Arundel
4	County Ethics Commission to consist of seven members who are appointed by the
5	County Executive with the approval of the County Council; and
6	WHEDEAC Costion 1001 states that of the seven members of the Ethios
7	WHEREAS, Section 1001 states that, of the seven members of the Ethics
8	Commission, no more than four members shall be members of the same political
9	party; and
10	WHEDEAC Castion 1001 further states that three members appointed by the
11	WHEREAS, Section 1001 further states that three members appointed by the County Executive shall first be nominated by the County Council; and
12 13	County Executive shall first be nonliniated by the County Council, and
14	WHEREAS, Section 1001 further states that the term of each member is four years
15	and that no member may serve more than two consecutive terms; and
16	and that no member may serve more than two consecutive terms, and
17	WHEREAS, the second term of member Katherine K. Cawood (Democrat), who
18	was nominated by the County Council and appointed by the County Executive,
19	expired on April 30, 2020; and
20	expired on April 30, 2020, and
21	WHEREAS, by Resolution No. 11-20, the County Council nominated Daniel J.
22	Semick (Democrat) for appointment to the Ethics Commission to serve a first term
23	expiring on April 30, 2024; and
24	expring on ripin 30, 2021, and
25	WHEREAS, the County Executive, subject to the approval of the County Council,
26	has appointed Daniel J. Semick (Democrat) to serve as a member of the Ethics
27	Commission for a first term expiring on April 30, 2024; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, the County Council, after public hearing, has found Daniel J. Semick
30	(Democrat) to be qualified under Section 1001 of the Charter to serve as a member
31	of the Ethics Commission for a first term expiring on April 30, 2024; now,
32	therefore, be it
33	
34	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby approves the appointment of Daniel J. Semick (Democrat) to the Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission to serve a first term that expires on April 30, 2024; and be it further

35

36

Resolution No. 13-20 Page No. 2

Resolved, That a copy of this Resolution be sent to Steuart Pittman, County Executive;
Michael Botsaris, Executive Director, Ethics Commission; Daniel J. Semick, appointee;
and Kaley Schultze, Coordinator of Boards and Commissions and Legislative Assistant.

READ AND PASSED this 11th day of May, 2020

By Order:

JoAnne Gray Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 13-20 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Allison M. Pickard Chair