COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2021, Legislative Day No. 6

Resolution No. 20-21

Introduced by Ms. Lacey, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, March 15, 2021

1 2	RESOLUTION confirming the reappointment of an Anne Arundel County resident to serve on the Spending Affordability Committee
3	
4	WHEREAS, Section 610(a) of the Charter of Anne Arundel County, Maryland,
5	provides that there is a Spending Affordability Committee that is appointed by the
6	County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council; and
7	
8	WHEREAS, Section 610(c) of the Charter provides that the Spending Affordability
9	Committee shall consist of one resident from each councilmanic district who is
10	knowledgeable in the field of economics, finance, fiscal planning, or a related field;
11	and
12 13	WHEREAS, Section 610(d) of the Charter provides that each member of the
14	Spending Affordability Committee shall be appointed for a term of four years not
15	to exceed two successive terms; and
16	to exceed two successive terms, and
17	WHEREAS, Section 610(d) of the Charter further provides that, at the end of a
18	term, a member shall continue to serve until a successor has been appointed and
19	qualified; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, the initial term of Ejaz Younas, a resident of District 2, expired on
22	December 1, 2020; and
23	
24	WHEREAS, the County Executive, subject to confirmation by the County Council,
25	has reappointed Ejaz Younas to serve on the Spending Affordability Committee for
2627	a second term ending on December 1, 2024; and
28	WHEREAS, the County Council, after public hearing, finds that Ejaz Younas meets
29	the eligibility requirements under Section 610 of the Charter to serve on the
30	Spending Affordability Committee; now, therefore, be it
31	Spending Principal Committee, now, therefore, or it
32	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby
33	approves the reappointment of Ejaz Younas, a resident of District 2, to serve on the
34	Spending Affordability Committee for a second term ending on December 1, 2024; and be
35	it further

Resolution No. 20-21 Page No. 2

- 1 Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to Stuart Pittman, County Executive;
- 2 Matthew J. Power, Chief Administrative Officer; Ejaz Younas, appointee; and Meghan
- 3 Brown, Boards and Commissions Coordinator.

READ AND PASSED this 15th day of March, 2021.

By Order:

Laura Corby **C** Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 20-21 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Sarah F. Lacey

Chair