### COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

# Legislative Session 2020, Legislative Day No. 24

#### Resolution No. 26-20

### Introduced by Ms. Rodvien

## By the County Council, July 6, 2020

1	RESOLUTION appointing two Anne Arundel County citizens to serve on the
2	Chesapeake Bay Bridge Reconstruction Advisory Group
3	
4	WHEREAS, § 4-211 of the Transportation Article of the State Code establishes a
5	Chesapeake Bay Bridge Reconstruction Advisory Group within the State
6	Department of Transportation (the "Advisory Group"); and
7	
8	WHEREAS, § 4-211(h) provides that the duties of the Advisory Group are, in
9	general, to provide the Maryland Transportation Authority with an independent,
10	citizen-informed perspective on operations at the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, assist in
11	assessing potential concerns about activity relating to the Chesapeake Bay Bridge,
12	assist in educating the general public about activity relating to the Chesapeake Bay
13	Bridge, and provide pertinent input related to traffic and customer service issues;
14	and
15	
16	WHEREAS, § 4-211(c)(4) provides that two citizen members are to be appointed
17	to the Advisory Group by the Anne Arundel County Council; and
18	
19	WHEREAS, § 4-211(d) provides that the term of an appointed member is three
20	years and that, at the end of a term, an appointed member continues to serve until a
21	successor is appointed and qualified; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, § 4-211(d) further provides that the initial terms of the appointed
24	members are to be staggered as provided by law; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, the County Council finds Kurt Riegel, an Arundel County citizen, and
27	S. Hamilton Chaney, also an Anne Arundel County citizen, both qualified to serve
28	on the Advisory Group; now, therefore, be it
29	
30	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it hereby

343536

3738

39

31

32

33

*Resolved*, That copies of this Resolution be sent to James F. Ports, Jr., Executive Director, Maryland Transportation Authority; Kurt Riegel and S. Hamilton Chaney, appointees; and Kaley Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator for Anne Arundel County.

appoints S. Hamilton Chaney to serve an initial two year term, retroactive to July 1, 2020,

on the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Reconstruction Advisory Group; and Kurt Riegel to serve

an initial three year term, retroactive to July 1, 2020, on the Chesapeake Bay Bridge

Reconstruction Advisory Group; and be it further

Resolution No. 26-20 Page No. 2

READ AND PASSED this 6th day of July, 2020.

By Order:

JoAnne Gray Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 26-20 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Allison M. Pickard

Chair