COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2022, Legislative Day No. 14

Resolution No. 29-22

Introduced by Ms. Rodvien, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, July 5, 2022

1	RESOLUTION confirming nominations to the Board of Trustees of The Public Library
2	Association of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County, Incorporated
3	
4	WHEREAS, pursuant to its Eighteenth Amendment and Complete Restatement of
5	Bylaws dated February 17, 2022 (the "Bylaws"), the Board of Trustees of The
6	Public Library Association of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County, Incorporated
7	("AACPL") consists of up to 17 Trustees, including up to eight Trustees who are
8	nominated by the County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County
9	Council; and
10	
11	WHEREAS, the Bylaws further provide that seven of the eight Trustees nominated
12	by the County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council shall
13	represent each of the County's councilmanic districts, and that the eighth Trustee
14	shall be at large; and
15	
16	WHEREAS, the Bylaws set forth the qualifications for the Trustees, including that
17	they be residents of the County, be representative of the area that the library serves,
18	and be chosen on the basis of character, ability, and demonstrated interest in library
19	matters; and
2021	WHEREAS, as stated in the Bylaws, the term of a Trustee is 3 years, and each
22	Trustee may serve up to a maximum of three consecutive 3-year terms; and
23	Trustee may serve up to a maximum of three consecutive 3-year terms, and
24	WHEREAS, the positions of the Trustee for Councilmanic District 2 and the at-
25	large Trustee are vacant; and
26	large Trustee are vacant, and
27	WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated Faith Steele, a resident of
28	Councilmanic District 2, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 2, and
29	Ishani Gandhi, a County resident, to serve as the at-large Trustee for three-year
30	terms expiring June 19, 2025, beginning upon final appointment by the AACPL
31	Board of Trustees; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, the terms of the Trustees from Councilmanic Districts 1, 3, 4, 5, and
34	7 expired in June of 2022; and
35	·
36	WHEREAS, the County Executive has re-nominated Laura Ellis (formerly Laura
37	Brown), a resident of Councilmanic District 1, to serve as the Trustee from
38	Councilmanic District 1: Joseph Robert Sann III Ed D a resident of

Resolution No. 29-22 Page No. 2

Councilmanic District 3, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 3; James Estepp, a resident of Councilmanic District 4, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 4; M. Brooke Toomey, a resident of Councilmanic District 5, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 5; and Mary Catherine Belcher, a resident of Councilmanic District 7, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 7, for three-year terms expiring June 19, 2025, beginning upon final appointment by the AACPL Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that Laura Ellis (District 1), Faith Steele (District 2), Joseph Robert Sapp, III, Ed.D. (District 3), James Estepp (District 4), M. Brooke Toomey (District 5), Mary Catherine Belcher (District 7), and Ishani Gandhi (at large), meet eligibility requirements and are qualified to serve on the AACPL Board of Trustees; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it confirms the nominations of Faith Steele, a resident of Councilmanic District 2, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 2, and Ishani Gandhi, a County resident, to serve as the at-large Trustee, for 3-year terms expiring June 19, 2025, beginning upon final appointment by the AACPL Board of Trustees; and be it further;

Resolved, That it confirms the re-nominations of Laura Ellis (formerly Laura Brown), a resident of Councilmanic District 1, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 1; Joseph Robert Sapp, III, Ed.D., a resident of Councilmanic District 3, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 3; James Estepp, a resident of Councilmanic District 4, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 4; M. Brooke Toomey, a resident of Councilmanic District 5, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 5; and Mary Catherine Belcher, a resident of Councilmanic District 7, to serve as the Trustee from Councilmanic District 7, all for three-year terms expiring June 19, 2025, beginning upon final appointment by the AACPL Board of Trustees; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to Steuart Pittman, County Executive; William A. Shorter, Jr., Chair, AACPL Board of Trustees; Laura Ellis, Faith Steele, Joseph Robert Sapp, III, Ed.D., James Estepp, M. Brooke Toomey, Mary Catherine Belcher, and Ishani Gandhi, nominees; Matthew Power, Chief Administrative Officer; and Staci Gorden, Boards and Commissions Coordinator.

READ AND PASSED this 5th day of July, 2022.

By Order:

Laura Corby *(*/
Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 29-22 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Lisa D. B. Rodvien

Lise DB Roduc

Chair