COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2022, Legislative Day No. 17

Resolution No. 43-22

Introduced by Ms. Rodvien, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, September 19, 2022

1 2	RESOLUTION approving the nominations for appointment to the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4
3	, c
4	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) of the County Code provides that each General
5	Development Plan adopted by the County Council shall designate at least seven
6	region planning areas encompassing all of the unincorporated areas of the County
7	and shall provide for the creation of region plans for each region planning area; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) further provides that the General Development Plan
10	shall specify the composition of Stakeholder Advisory Committees, which shall
11	include between 9 and 15 citizens who are residents or, own property in, or have an
12	interest in land use planning in the region planning area; and who are nominated by
13	the County Executive and approved by Resolution of the County Council; and
14	WHEREAG (10.2.102/) 1
15	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) also provides that two-thirds of the members of each
16	Stakeholder Advisory Committee shall be residents of the region; and that the
17	committees shall include at least one resident of each councilmanic district included in the region planning area, who shall be recommended to the County Evecutive by
18 19	in the region planning area, who shall be recommended to the County Executive by the Councilmember from the district; and
20	the Councillientoer from the district, and
21	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) states that the Stakeholder Advisory Committees will
22	work with the Office of Planning and Zoning to develop the region plans and to
23	ensure that the region plans are consistent with the goals and policies contained in
24	the General Development Plan; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, by Bill No. 11-21, the County Council adopted "Plan2040", the
27	General Development Plan for the County; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, Plan2040 identifies and designates 9 region planning areas in the
30	County; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, Plan2040 specifies that the membership of the Stakeholder Advisory
33	Committees shall reflect the ethnic and minority diversity of the regions and will
34	include a broad cross-section of a region's civic, business, environmental, and other

stakeholders who reside in or own or manage a business in the planning area, such

as long-time resident property owners or renters, recent resident property owners

or renters, homeowners' association or civic association board members, local

business representatives, home builders, real estate developers or brokers, military

35

36

37

38

members or other relevant government agency employees or contractors; affordable housing advocates, community or social organization members, environmental organization members, commercial or maritime association members, school organization members, youth adult representatives, local recreation council or group members, and farming and agriculture representatives; and

WHEREAS, the County Executive nominated members of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4, as identified in Plan2040 who met the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(e) and Plan2040, and the County Council approved those members by Resolution No. 56-21; and

WHEREAS, two of the members of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4, Joshua Fornwalt and Ben Hilliard, have been removed from the Committee, and the County Executive has nominated Amy Beall (Resident Property Owner) and Lori Cann (Resident Property Owner), to fill the vacancies; and

WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that Amy Beall and Lori Cann meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(e) and Plan2040, and are qualified to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves the appointments of Amy Beall and Lori Cann to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 4, as the region is identified in Plan2040; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman; Lori Rhodes, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use; Steven Kaii-Ziegler, Planning and Zoning Officer; Amy Beall and Lori Cann, the appointees; and Staci Gorden, Boards and Commissions Coordinator.

READ AND PASSED this 19th day of September, 2022.

By Order:

Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 43-22 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Lisa D. B. Rodvien

Chair