COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2021, Legislative Day No. 2

Resolution No. 5-21

Introduced by Ms. Lacey, Mr. Pruski, Ms. Rodvien, and Ms. Pickard

By the County Council, January 19, 2021

RESOLUTION condemning the insurrection at the U.S. Capitol Building on January
6, 2021, and urging the peaceful transition of power on Inauguration Day disqualification
of Donald J. Trump from holding office
WHEREAS, incited by then-President Donald J. Trump, on January 6, 2021, a mob
unlawfully breached the U.S. Capitol Building, injured law enforcement personnel,
defaced and destroyed public property, and menaced Members of Congress and the
Vice President as they sat in a Joint Session to certify the results of the November
2020 election; and
WHEREAS, those responsible for planning, aiding, and carrying out such actions
must be held responsible for their criminal and/or unconstitutional acts; and
•
WHEREAS, elected officials at all levels of government, including this Council,
are sworn to support the U.S. Constitution, to uphold the law, and do their jobs to

Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it offers its deepest condolences to the family of Capitol Police Officer Brian Sicknick, who gave his life defending the Capitol, and applauds the other members of the U.S. Capitol Police who faithfully carried out their duty to protect those who were lawfully inside the Capitol Building from the rioters and insurrectionists; and be it further

23
24 <u>Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it offers its</u>
25 deepest condolences to the families of Capitol Police Officer Brian Sicknick, who gave his
26 life defending the Capitol, and those of Officers Howard Liebengood and Jeffrey Smith,
27 who took their own lives in the aftermath of the insurrection; and be it further

Resolved, That this Council applauds the other members of the U.S. Capitol Police who faithfully carried out their duty to protect those who were lawfully inside the Capitol Building from the rioters and insurrectionists on January 6, including but not limited to Officer Eugene Goodman, a U.S. Army veteran whose quick thinking and brave actions that day have since been hailed for preventing untold bloodshed and defending American Democracy; and be it further

the best of their ability; now, therefore, be it

Resolution No. 5-21 Page No. 2

Resolved, That it this Council acknowledges and affirms the right of the people to peaceful means of protest, as secured by the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution; and be it further

Resolved, That it this Council denounces the repeated, unchecked dissemination of misinformation, conspiracy theories, and lies by former President Donald J. Trump and his accomplices and surrogates, in particular those which were intended to undermine public confidence in the certified results of the November 2020 election, which he lost; and be it further

Resolved, That # this Council condemns the intimidation, harassment, or threatening of any person who is involved in any aspect of conducting and certifying a free and fair election, in an attempt to change the outcome of that election, as well as the incitement and use of violence to intimidate, harass, or threaten such persons or the public; and be it further

Resolved, That due to the President's his egregious misconduct in undermining the election results and inciting a violent insurrection against the U.S. Congress and his own vice president, Donald J. Trump should be permanently disqualified by Congress from holding any office of honor, trust, or profit under the United States or any State; and be it further

Resolved, That it demands a peaceful transition of power to President-Elect Joseph R. Biden and Vice President-Elect Kamala D. Harris on Inauguration Day, January 20, 2021, to be followed by a thorough investigation and prosecutions of the insurrectionists as advised by the new U.S. Attorney General; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this Resolution be sent to U.S. Senators Benjamin L. Cardin and Chris Van Hollen; U.S. Representatives C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Anthony G. Brown, and Steny H. Hoyer; Senator Sarah K. Elfreth, Chair, Anne Arundel County Senate Delegation to the General Assembly; and Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, Chair, Anne Arundel County House Delegation to the Maryland General Assembly.

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED: February 1, 2021

READ AND PASSED this 1st day of February, 2021.

By Order:

Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 5-21, AS AMENDED, IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Sarah F. Lacey

Chair