

## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2023, Legislative Day No. 7

Bill No. 23-23

Introduced by Mr. Smith, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, April 3, 2023

Introduced and first read on April 3, 2023 Public Hearing set for and held on May 1, 2023 Bill Expires July 7, 2023

By Order: Laura Corby, Administrative Officer

#### A BILL ENTITLED

1	AN ORDINANCE concerning: Boards, Commissions, and Similar Bodies – Resilience
2	Authority of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County
3	
4	FOR the purpose of adding a certain non-voting advisor; staggering the initial terms of
5	members; providing that the Director shall be a County employee in the exempt service;
6	revising the process for appointing and qualifications of a Chief Financial Officer;
7	altering certain reporting requirements; and generally relating to boards, commissions,
8	and similar bodies.
9	
10	BY repealing: § 3-8A-107(d)
11	Anne Arundel County Code (2005, as amended)
12	
13	BY renumbering: § 3-8A-107(e) to be 3-8A-107(d); and §§ 3-8A-108(b) through (d),
14	respectively, to be 3-8A-108(c) through (e), respectively
15	Anne Arundel County Code (2005, as amended)
16	
17	BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments: §§ 3-8A-103(a)(5) and (c); 3-8A-107(a);
18	3-8A-108(a); 3-8A-109; and 3-8A-113(a)
19	Anne Arundel County Code (2005, as amended)
20	
21	BY adding: § 3-8A-108(b)
22	Anne Arundel County Code (2005, as amended)

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Marvland, 1 That § 3-8A-107(d) of the Anne Arundel County Code (2005, as amended) is hereby 2 repealed. 3 4 SECTION 2. And be it further enacted, That §§ 3-8A-107(e) and 3-8A-108(b) through 5 (d), respectively, of the Anne Arundel County Code (2005, as amended) are hereby 6 renumbered to be §§ 3-8A-107(d) and 3-8A-108(c) through (e), respectively. 7 8 SECTION 3. And be it further enacted, That Section(s) of the Anne Arundel County 9 Code (2005, as amended) read as follows: 10 11 **ARTICLE 3. BOARDS, COMMISSIONS, AND SIMILAR BODIES** 12 13 **TITLE 8A. RESILIENCE AUTHORITY OF ANNAPOLIS AND ANNE** 14 **ARUNDEL COUNTY** 15 16 17 3-8A-103. Membership. 18 (a) **Composition**. 19 20 (5) The County Director of Public Works, the County Director of Emergency 21 Management, the County Planning and Zoning Officer, the Director of the Department of 22 Public Works for the City of Annapolis, the Director of Emergency Management for the 23 City of Annapolis, THE DEPUTY CITY MANAGER FOR RESILIENCE AND SUSTAINABILITY 24 FOR THE CITY OF ANNAPOLIS, and the Director of Planning and Zoning for the City of 25 26 Annapolis, or any of their designees, shall serve as non-voting advisors to the Resilience Authority. 27 28 29 (c) **Terms.** [[The term of a member is four years.]] 30 31 (1) INITIAL APPOINTMENTS OF MEMBERS BY THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE AND MAYOR SHALL BE AS FOLLOWS: 32 33 (I) THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE SHALL APPOINT THREE MEMBERS AND THE 34 35 MAYOR SHALL APPOINT ONE MEMBER WHOSE TERMS END ON SEPTEMBER 30, 2025; 36 37 (II) THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE SHALL APPOINT THREE MEMBERS AND THE 38 MAYOR SHALL APPOINT ONE MEMBER WHOSE TERMS END ON SEPTEMBER 30, 2026; AND 39 40 (III) THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE SHALL APPOINT THREE MEMBERS AND THE MAYOR SHALL APPOINT ONE MEMBER WHOSE TERMS END ON SEPTEMBER 30, 2027. 41 42 43 (2) MEMBERS APPOINTED AFTER THE INITIAL APPOINTMENTS SHALL SERVE FOUR 44 YEAR TERMS. At the end of a term, a member continues to serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies. A member who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for 45 the remainder of the term and until a successor is appointed and gualifies. A member may 46 47 be reappointed, BUT NO MEMBER SHALL SERVE MORE THAN THREE CONSECUTIVE TERMS. 1 2

3 4

5

6 7

8

# **3-8A-107.** Resilience Authority Director.

#### (a) **Appointment**.

(3) The Resilience Authority Director shall BE A COUNTY EMPLOYEE IN THE EXEMPT SERVICE AND SHALL serve at the pleasure of the County Executive.

**[**[(d) **Compensation.** The Resilience Authority Director shall receive compensation as may be fixed by the Resilience Authority from time to time.]]

9 10 11

12

## 3-8A-108. Chief Financial Officer.

(a) Nomination and Appointment. [[The members of the Resilience Authority shall
appoint a Chief Financial Officer. The Chief Financial Officer may not be a member of the
Resilience Authority.]] THE RESILIENCE AUTHORITY DIRECTOR SHALL NOMINATE A
CANDIDATE FOR CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER. THE RESILIENCE AUTHORITY DIRECTOR
SHALL APPOINT THE CANDIDATE TO THE POSITION UPON CONFIRMATION OF THE
CANDIDATE'S NOMINATION BY A MAJORITY OF THE MEMBERS OF THE RESILIENCE
AUTHORITY.

20

(B) Qualifications. THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER SHALL BE OF GOOD CHARACTER,
INTEGRITY, AND BUSINESS EXPERIENCE, AND SHALL MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS OF A JOB
DESCRIPTION DEVELOPED BY THE RESILIENCE AUTHORITY DIRECTOR AND APPROVED BY
THE MEMBERS.

### 26 **3-8A-113. Reporting.**

27

(a) Annual report. By January 1 of each year, the Resilience Authority shall provide
a written report and audited [[financials,]] FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED in
accordance with [[generally accepted]] accounting principles GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN
THE UNITED STATES, to the County Executive, the County Council, the Mayor of the City
of Annapolis, and the Annapolis City Council on the activities and financial position of the
Resilience Authority [[during]] FOR AND AS OF THE END OF the prior [[calendar]] FISCAL
year.

35

36 SECTION 4. *And be it further enacted*, That this Ordinance shall take effect 45 days 37 from the date it becomes law.

READ AND PASSED this  $1^{\,\rm st}$  day of May, 2023

By Order:

Dava Cork

Laura Corby **()** Administrative Officer

Bill No. 23-23 Page No. 4

PRESENTED to the County Executive for his approval this 3rd day of May, 2023

Jan Corly Laura Corby

Administrative Officer

APPROVED AND ENACTED this 8th day of May, 2023

(ttCP)

Steuart Pittman County Executive

EFFECTIVE DATE: June 22, 2023

Bill No. 23-23 Page No. 5

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THIS IS A TRUE AND CORRECT COPY OF BILL NO. 23-23 THE ORIGINAL OF WHICH IS RETAINED IN THE FILES OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL.

Dawn Cork Laura Corby

Administrative Officer