## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2023, Legislative Day No. 8

Resolution No. 12-23

Introduced by Mr. Smith, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, April 17, 2023

1	RESOLUTION confirming a nomination to the Board of Trustees of The Public
2	Library Association of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County, Incorporated
3	
4	WHEREAS, pursuant to its Eighteenth Amendment and Complete Restatement of
5	the Bylaws dated February 17, 2022 (the "Bylaws"), the Board of Trustees of The
6	Public Library Association of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County, Incorporated
7	("AACPL") includes up to eight members who are nominated by the County
8	Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council for presentation to
9	and appointment by the Board of Trustees; and
10	WHITEDELG A D 1 C A 11 A 2 CA 11 A 1 A 1 A 1
11 12	WHEREAS, the Bylaws further provide that seven of the eight members nominated by the County Executive and confirmed by resolution of the County Council shall
13	represent each of the County's councilmanic districts, and the eighth member shall
14	be at large; and
15	WHIEDEAC ( 1 1 A D 1 A C 1 CA AACDI D 1
16	WHEREAS, as stated in the Bylaws, the term of a member of the AACPL Board
17	of Trustees is 3 years; and
18 19	WHEREAS, as stated in the Bylaws, any new trustee filling the seat of a trustee
20	who resigns shall serve out the term of the resigning trustee and thereafter may
21	serve no more than three consecutive 3-year terms; and
22	serve no more than three consecutive 5 year terms, and
23	WHEREAS, M. Brooke Toomey, appointed to serve as the member of the AACPL
24	Board of Trustees from Councilmanic District 5 for a term of 3 years ending June
25	19, 2025, has resigned; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated Noah Comet, a resident of
28	Councilmanic District 5, to serve as the member of the AACPL Board of Trustees
29	from Councilmanic District 5 for the remainder of the term expiring June 19, 2025,
30	beginning upon final appointment by the AACPL Board of Trustees; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, the County Council finds that Noah Comet meets the eligibility
33	requirements and is qualified to serve on the AACPL Board of Trustees; now,
34	therefore, be it
35	
36	Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it confirms

the nomination of Noah Comet, a resident of Councilmanic District 5, to serve as the

member of the AACPL Board of Trustees from Councilmanic District 5 for the remainder

37

38

Resolution No. 12-23 Page No. 2

of the term expiring June 19, 2025, beginning upon final appointment by the AACPL Board of Trustees; and be it further

2 3 4

5

6

7

1

*Resolved*, That copies of this Resolution be sent to Steuart Pittman, County Executive; Christopher B. Nelson, Chair, AACPL Board of Trustees; Noah Comet, nominee; Christine Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer; and Kaley Schultze, Boards and Commissions Coordinator.

READ AND PASSED this 1st day of May, 2023.

By Order:

Laura Corby **O**Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 12-23 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Peter I. Smith Chair