COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2024, Legislative Day No. 12

Resolution No. 24-24

Introduced by Ms. Pickard, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

By the County Council, June 3, 2024

1	RESOLUTION approving appointment of members to the Police Accountability Board
2 3	WHEREAS, § 3-7A-103 of the County Code establishes the membership of the
3 4	County's Police Accountability Board; and
4 5	County's Fonce Accountability Board, and
6	WHEREAS, that membership includes eight voting members who have resided
7	the County for at least three years prior to appointment who are appointed by the
8	County Executive and whose appointment is approved by the County Council; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, each councilmember is given a reasonable opportunity to recommend
11	a resident of their district to be appointed to the Board; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, § 3-7A-103(a) describes criteria for membership on the Police
14	Accountability Board, including that, to the extent practicable, membership shall:
15	reflect the racial, gender, gender-identity, sexual orientation, and cultural diversity
16	of the County; include representation from the populations, identities, geographic
17	areas, and communities that historically experienced or currently experience a
18	higher frequency of interactions with law enforcement; and include a diversity of
19	experience and expertise, including certain specified relevant areas; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, § 3-7A-103(b) sets forth an appointment process that includes
22	publication of an advertisement for the opportunity to apply for membership for at
23	least 30 days prior to an appointment by the County Executive; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, the terms of three members (Barney Gomez, District 1; Kimberly
26	Jackson, District 6; and Sarah Kivett, District 7) will expire on June 30, 2024; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, the advertisement for the opportunity to fill the vacant position was
29	published for at least 30 days prior to appointment by the County Executive, and
30	the councilmembers representing District 1, 6, and 7 have been given an
31	opportunity to recommend a member for appointment; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, the term of Cedric Johnson (a County resident of District 4) will expire
34	on June 30, 2024; and
35	
36	WHEREAS, the County Executive has reappointed Cedric Johnson (a County
37	resident of District 4) and has appointed Toeleesar Ellis (a County resident of
38	District 1), David Wier (a County resident of District 2), and Jennifer Munt (a

Resolution No. 24-24 Page No. 2

County resident of District 2), who meet the eligibility requirements set forth in 1 § 3-7A-103(a), as voting members of the Police Accountability Board for the 2 three-year terms beginning on July 1, 2024, and expiring on June 30, 2027; and 3 4 WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that Cedric Johnson. 5 6 Toeleesar Ellis, David Wier, and Jennifer Munt meet the eligibility requirements of § 3-7A-103, and are qualified to serve on the Police Accountability Board; now, 7 therefore, be it 8 9 Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves 10 the reappointment of Cedric Johnson and the appointment of Toeleesar Ellis, David Wier, 11

- 12 and Jennifer Munt to terms expiring on June 30, 2027; and be it further
- 13
- 14

Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman.

READ AND PASSED this 17st day of June, 2024.

By Order:

Kaley Schultze Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 24-24 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

AnRehuel

Allison Pickard Chair