

2664 Riva Road, P.O. Box 6675 Annapolis, MD 21401 410-222-7450

Gustav S. Kurtz, Jr. Chair, Planning Advisory Board

July 2, 2024

The Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive Anne Arundel County Arundel Center, P.O. Box 2700 Annapolis, Maryland 21404

> RE: Bill 64-24: An Ordinance Concerning: Planning and Development - Master Plan for Water Supply and Sewerage Systems

Dear County Executive Pittman:

The Planning Advisory Board (PAB) is a citizen advisory board created by §532 of the Anne Arundel County Charter. Under § 533 (b) of the Charter, the PAB shall make advisory recommendations to the Planning and Zoning Officer and the County Council relating to various matters including Master Plans.

The PAB met on May 8, 2024 and received an overview of Bill 64-24 from the Office of Planning and Zoning staff. This Ordinance is for an amendment to the Water Sewer Master Plan. The amendment is to change Alberts Farm at 8703 Veterans Highway from the No Public Service category to the Planned Sewer Service Category in the Broadneck Sewer Service Area. The amendment includes a recommended change to two undeveloped, platted open space parcels in the Point Field Landing community from the No Public Service Category to the Planned Sewer Service Category in the Broadneck Sewer Service Area to form a contiguous area of Planned Service. The PAB understands that these parcels cannot be developed because of restrictions in the subdivision plat and County environmental requirements, and that the change in sewer service category will not change those restrictions. The PAB recommends that the Office of Planning and Zoning notify the owners of the open space parcels of this amendment.

Following the presentation and discussion among the members of the PAB, the Board voted 6-0 to offer an advisory recommendation of approval of Bill 64-24.

If there are any questions regarding our recommendation, please contact Michael Stringer in the Office of Planning and Zoning at <u>PlanningAdvisoryBoard@aacounty.org</u>.

Sincerely,

Gustav S. Kurtz, Jr. Chair

CC: Christine Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer, Office of the County Executive Kaley Scuhltze, Administrative Officer, Anne Arundel County Council Members of the Planning Advisory Board Jenny B. Dempsey, Planning and Zoning Officer, Office of Planning and Zoning (OPZ) Christina Pompa, Deputy Planning and Zoning Officer, Planning Division, OPZ Cindy Carrier, Planning Administrator, Long Range Planning Section, OPZ Michael Stringer, Planning Board Administrator, Long Range Planning Section, OPZ Desirae Williams, Planner III, Long Range Planning Section, OPZ Laura Layton, Engineer Manager, Department of Public Works (DPW) Al Herb, Deputy Director, Environmental Health, Department of Health