## COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND

Legislative Session 2024, Legislative Day No. 16

Resolution No. 35-24

## Introduced by Ms. Pickard, Chair (by request of the County Executive)

## By the County Council, September 3, 2024

1 2	RESOLUTION approving the nominations for appointment to the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 6
3	
4	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) of the County Code provides that each General
5	Development Plan adopted by the County Council shall designate at least seven
6	region planning areas encompassing all of the unincorporated areas of the County
7	and shall provide for the creation of region plans for each region planning area; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) further provides that the General Development Plan
10	shall specify the composition of Stakeholder Advisory Committees, which shall
11	include between 9 and 15 citizens who are residents or, own property in, or have an
12	interest in land use planning in the region planning area, and who are nominated by
13	the County Executive and approved by Resolution of the County Council; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) also provides that two-thirds of the members of each
16	Stakeholder Advisory Committee shall be residents of the region, and that the
17	committees shall include at least one resident of each councilmanic district included
18	in the region planning area, who shall be recommended to the County Executive by
19	the Councilmember from the district; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, § 18-2-103(e) states that the Stakeholder Advisory Committees will
22	work with the Office of Planning and Zoning to develop the region plans and to
23	ensure that the region plans are consistent with the goals and policies contained in
24	the General Development Plan; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, by Bill No. 11-21, the County Council adopted "Plan2040", the
27	General Development Plan for the County; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, Plan2040 identifies and designates 9 region planning areas in the
30	County; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, Plan2040 specifies that the membership of the Stakeholder Advisory
33	Committees shall reflect the ethnic and minority diversity of the regions and will
34	include a broad cross-section of a region's civic, business, environmental, and other
35	stakeholders who reside in or own or manage a business in the region planning area,
36	such as long-time resident property owners or renters, recent resident property
37	owners or renters, homeowners' association or civic association board members,
38	local business representatives, home builders, real estate developers or brokers,

Resolution No. 35-24 Page No. 2

military members or other relevant government agency employees or contractors, 1 affordable housing advocates, community or social organization members, 2 environmental organization members, commercial or maritime association 3 members, school organization members, youth adult representatives, local 4 recreation council or group members, and farming and agriculture representatives; 5 6 and 7 WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated members of the Stakeholder 8 Advisory Committee for Region Planning Area No. 6, as identified in Plan2040 9 who meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(e) and Plan2040; and 10 11 12 WHEREAS, the County Council, after a public hearing, finds that the County Executive's nominees meet the eligibility requirements of § 18-2-103(e) and 13 Plan2040, and are qualified to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for 14 Region Planning Area No. 6, as the region is identified in Plan2040; now, therefore, 15 be it 16 17 Resolved by the County Council of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, That it approves 18 the following appointments to serve on the Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Region 19 Planning Area No. 6, as the region is identified in Plan2040: 20 21 1. Joel Binkley (Recent Resident, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of HOA 22 or Civic Association Board); 23 24 2. Chuck Cerria (Recent Resident, Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, Real Estate 25 Broker, and Member of Community/Social Organization, Commercial or Maritime 26 Association, and School Organization); 27 28 3. Stacey Jensen (Recent Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other 29 Government Agency or Contractor, Affordable Housing Advocate, Farming and 30 31 Agriculture Representative, and Member of Environmental Organization, and Local Recreation Council or Group): 32 33 34 4. Kristen Krall (Resident, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, Community/Social Organization, and School Organization); 35 36 5. M. Melissa Moore (Resident, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and 37 School Organization); 38 39 6. Therese Nadler (Recent Resident, Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, and 40 Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and School Organization); 41 42 7. Claudia O'Keeffe (Long-Time Resident, Affordable Housing Advocate, and 43 Member of Environmental Organization, Community/Social Organization, and School 44 45 Organization); 46 47 8. Heather Page (Long-Time Resident and Farming and Agriculture Representative);

9. Brian Parker (Recent Resident, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of HOA
 or Civic Association Board);

10. Graham Scarbro (Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other Government
Agency or Contractor, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and School
Organization);

7

3

11. Edward Sinnes (Recent Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other 8 Government Agency or Contractor, Affordable Housing Advocate, Farming and 9 Agriculture Representative, and Member of Environmental Organization, 10 Community/Social Organization, School Organization, and Local Recreation Council or 11 Group); 12

13

17

12. Robert Sweet (Resident, Home Builder/Real Estate Developer, Affordable Housing
 Advocate, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social
 Organization);

13. Jasmine Wilding (Long-Time Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other
 Government Agency or Contractor, Affordable Housing Advocate, and Member of HOA
 or Civic Association Board, and Environmental Organization);

21 22 23

14. Beatriz Winn (Resident and Member of Community/Social Organization); and

15. James Young, as recommended by the Councilmember from Councilmanic District 6 (Long-Time Resident, Military, Department of Defense, or Other Government Agency or Contractor, and Member of HOA or Civic Association Board, and Community/Social Organization); and be it further

28

*Resolved*, That copies of this Resolution be sent to County Executive Steuart Pittman;
 Janssen Evelyn, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Land Use; and Jenny Dempsey,
 Planning and Zoning Officer.

READ AND PASSED this 16<sup>th</sup> day of September, 2024.

By Order:

Kaley Schultze Administrative Officer

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT RESOLUTION NO. 35-24 IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND DULY ADOPTED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY.

Allison Pickard Chair