

### ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY GOVERNMENT RELATIONS OFFICE

## Legislative and Fiscal Summary of Administration Legislation

**To:** Members, Anne Arundel County Council

From: Ethan Hunt, Director of Government Affairs /s/

Via: Hannah Dier, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer

Date: November 12, 2024

**Subject:** Bill No. 94-24 – Boards, Commissions, and Similar Bodies – Agriculture

Commission

This summary was prepared by the Anne Arundel County Government Relations Office for use by members of the Anne Arundel County Council during consideration of Bill No. 94-24.

#### Summary

The Administration seeks to codify the Anne Arundel County Agriculture Commission. This Bill provides for the purpose, membership, composition, appointment of a chair and vice chair, terms and compensation of members, meeting standards, by-laws, and duties of the Agriculture Commission. This Bill also makes organizational and other non-substantive reference corrections to Article 3.

#### Purpose

The Agriculture Commission, originally established in 2017 as the Agriculture, Farming and Agritourism Commission, was defined to its current name and structure by Executive Order 54 in 2021. In early 2024, the Agriculture Commission requested the codification of the Commission to ensure its continuation. The Commission voted to unanimously support this legislation at its August 2024 meeting.

### Fiscal Impact

Note: This Legislative and Fiscal Summary provides a synopsis of the legislation as introduced. It does not address subsequent amendments to the legislation.

Legislative and Fiscal Summary of Administration Legislation – Bill No. 94-24 Page No. 2

Please see the Fiscal Note the Budget Office has prepared for an explanation of the fiscal impact of this Bill.

# **Additional Information**

The Government Relations Office is available to answer any additional questions regarding this Bill. Specific questions should be directed to Greg Swain, Office of Law; or Steven Theroux, Budget Office. Thank you.

cc: Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive
Christine Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer
Jenny Proebstle, Chief of Staff
Gregory Swain, County Attorney
Chris Trumbauer, Budget Officer
Jenny Dempsey, Planning Officer