

2664 Riva Road, P.O. Box 6675 Annapolis, MD 21401 410-222-7450

Gustav S. Kurtz, Jr. Chair, Planning Advisory Board

January 23, 2025

The Honorable Steuart Pittman, County Executive Anne Arundel County Arundel Center, P.O. Box 2700 Annapolis, Maryland 21404

RE: Bill 7-25: An Ordinance Concerning: Capital Budget and Program - Roads and Bridges - Transfer of Appropriations

Dear County Executive Pittman:

The Planning Advisory Board (PAB) is a citizen advisory board created by §532 of the Anne Arundel County Charter. Under § 533 of the Charter, the PAB is charged with recommending the list of capital projects, along with their estimated costs, to be implemented by the County. Also under § 533, the PAB considers and transmits advisory recommendations for amendments to the Capital Budget to the County Executive through the course of the year.

The PAB met on January 8, 2025 and received an overview of Bill 7-25 from the Office of Budget. This Ordinance is for the purpose of amending the Capital Budget for Fiscal Year 2025 by providing a transfer of appropriations of \$400,000 from the Forest Drive/MD 665 Intersection Improvements (H587400) to Roads & Bridges Project Planning (H545900). This will keep the I-97 improvement from being delayed by the State. This would create no fiscal impact to the FY25 Approved Capital Budget and Program.

Following the presentation and discussion among the members of the PAB, the Board voted 6-0 to offer an advisory recommendation of approval of Bill 7-25.

If there are any questions regarding our recommendation, please contact Michael Stringer in the Office of Planning and Zoning, PlanningAdvisoryBoard@aacounty.org.

Sincerely,

Gustav S. Kurtz, Jr.

Chair

CC: Christine Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer, Office of the County Executive Chris Trumbauer, Budget Officer, Office of the County Executive Members of the Planning Advisory Board Naomi McAllister, Senior Capital Budget Analyst, Office of Budget Karen Henry, Director, Department of Public Works (DPW) David Braun, Engineer Administrator, DPW Sam Snead, Director, Office of Transportation Brian Ulrich, Transportation Planning Administrator, Office of Transportation Jenny B. Dempsey, Planning and Zoning Officer, Office of Planning and Zoning (OPZ) Christina Pompa, Deputy Planning and Zoning Officer, Planning Division, OPZ Cindy Carrier, Planning Administrator, Long Range Planning Section, OPZ